Snippets

§ Insty reports a new wine in town.

On May 24, 1976, the British wine merchant Steven Spurrier organized a blind tasting of French and Californian wines. … The results shocked the wine world. According to the judges, the best Cabernet at the tasting was a 1973 bottle from Stag’s Leap Wine Cellars in Napa Valley. When the tasting was repeated a few years later—some judges insisted that the French wines had been drunk too young—Stag’s Leap was once again declared the winner, followed by three other California Cabernets. These blind tastings (now widely known as the Judgment of Paris) helped to legitimate Napa vineyards.

But now, in an even more surprising turn of events, another American wine region has performed far better than expected in a blind tasting against the finest French châteaus. Ready for the punch line? The wines were from New Jersey.

Bingley has been way ahead of the curve on this, apparently.  Even I, who imbibeth but a little, have enjoyed the occasional winery tour-and-taste.  Cream Ridge Winery is a good spot for that sort of thing if you’re visiting the Garden State.

§ By many little rivulets of the Information River, down to Ace, and now to you:

Several commenters mistook my use of the microwave as the way all Americans heat water and clucked their tongues in disapproval. I’m happy to report to any of those who’ve returned to the site that I’m quite atypical in this regard. The standard American way to heat water is to take a pot of water out to our pickup truck, open the hood (what the Brits call a “spanner”), and lock the pot onto the engine block using a set of latches readily available at any Wal-Mart. Then we drive around at high speed, reciting the Gospels and firing our shotguns out the window. After reading the Gospel of John for three minutes and sixteen seconds, the water is ready. I hope this puts to rest any confusion.

I think I’m going to make this gentleman a regular read, if for no other reason than the quote in his footnotes, which was not excerpted anywhere, but is well worth extra attention: “Turns out, you get the best view of your navel by sticking your head up your ass.”

§ Speaking of Der Bingley, he mentions a little place in Belmar in his most recent post.  I’ve never had the pleasure of stopping in here, and thanks to Guy Fieri, I will probably have to wait until the dead of January.  In the meantime, anyone in the general area will not be disappointed.  There’s plenty of dining in Belmar and the nearby Shore towns – fine, casual, deli, pizza, and whatever you can think of.  Ladybug and I are partial to this spot, owned by a hockey-playing buddy of mine who is a bona-fide chef and owner-restauranteur.

§ I picked up a radio on clearance for the office.  It plays friendly with the iPod, it has an aux jack for anything I care to plug in, ambient noise (should I be taken with a sudden urge to nap or something), and the clock is supposed to set itself upon being plugged in.

But of course I want to test it first, right?  So I did, and it didn’t.  Set itself, that is: it just blinked at me like an owl in the sun for about ten minutes.  Finally I gave up and decided to try the radio part.  The speaker gave a mighty POP and died.  I now have a crappy electronic paperweight I can’t return (clearance!) and don’t need.  But hey, it came with a spare AC cord and a two-foot long standard-plug cord for the jack!  Because those things are so terribly hard to find.  #firstworldproblems

§ Today* the Vinyard Theater… tomorrow the world.

* note: “Today” means two days ago.  So much for the immediacy of the Internet.

Sheila is a performer, writer, and a great talent.  What’s more, she’s a ferocious worker, which is often the difference between “talented nobody” and “makes a living at own heart’s desire.”  I’m thrilled for her and wish that June hadn’t been kicking me in the pants quite so often… I would have loved to have gone to the reading.

§ Minion privilege – Doctor J had a post with a small, yet grating, grammatical error.  I mentioned it via the Twitter that the cool kids use nowadays, and lo and behold, it was gently corrected today.  The Masters treat us pretty good, I gotta say.

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Snippets

  1. Mr. Bingley June 27, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    We may be able to sneak in after Labor Day, ‘Fly.

  2. Kate P June 28, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Belmar’s not far from Spring Lake, right? My mom lived there for a little while as a kid (made her First Holy Communion there, actually) and I’ve never taken the trip. This post makes me think I should plan on that this summer.

    • nightfly June 28, 2012 at 10:47 pm

      That’s right. Spring Lake, Asbury Park, Belmar, Ocean Grove, Bradley Beach, Avon-by-the-Sea… all in a long line along the shore, up and down Route 71. Lovely areas (well, by and large). Ladybug and I enjoy day trips on the weekends to the various spots.

      Ladybug knows some great spots to visit. There’s a tea room in Avon that is a particular favorite of hers. Definitely put it on your itinerary!

Comments are closed.

