Pedantric

What is pendantric?

It’s next-level boring… it’s when ponderous and dry rises to a Zen-like state of condensed faux-learnéd over-writing.  The result is dullness so concentrated and inpenetrable that no actual life or wit can escape.

Even if a lot of people read it, and perhaps understand it, and maybe even agree with it – it’s a failure.  In no case will anyone interact.  There’s no way into the thing, and thus no way to make oneself at home with the concept.  Writing like that is a glittering failure, a pretty corpse sitting in a tasteful casket.

I thought a lot about that while reading this post from Andrea Harris.  I began to finally put a framework around the dissatisfaction I get in blogging… why I am often a daily commenter elsewhere, but an indifferent author… why I’ve abandoned my old blog and neglect my current one.   The truth is, I even bore myself.  That’s bad.  I sometimes (please forgive me) admire some phrase of mine that strikes me as apt and pithy, but I don’t much like it.

When did this happen?  AGAIN?  It’s one thing to have “certitude” but it’s another step beyond to write such dreadful dull crap.

2 thoughts on “Pedantric

  1. Andrea Harris January 27, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Unfortunately I don’t bore myself enough. I tend towards the pedantic more often than not.

    • nightfly January 30, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      You don’t bore your readers – and that’s the main thing.

Comments are closed.

