Adventures in cable-shifting

“Hello.  Thank you for calling Cable Behemoth’s cancellation department.  All operators are busy right now; your estimated wait time is twelve minutes.”

That’s not a good sign, when everyone is so busy cancelling accounts that they can’t get rid of you for another twelve minutes.  A worse sign is that they actually took nearly 20 minutes to get to me.

On the bright side, I got some of the best service ever from Cable Behemoth in the ten minutes that I was trying to end our professional relationship.  On balance I would consider that a positive.  It would have been very easy for them to be pissy and snide while I was leaving.  Sure, they were trying to re-up me along the way, but the man didn’t whine and he didn’t get passive-aggressive.

In fact, he actually beat the price we got from Alternative Broadcast by 13 bucks a month.  That’s not too shabby – 150 bucks a year – except that the AB guys are giving us a much nicer DVR and the Internet has been noticeably faster.  Another key for me?  CB wouldn’t give us this price last year after our two-year intro rate expired.  It wasn’t until we were out the door that they suddenly tried to make us feel like valued guests.

Sorry guys.

The next step is to ditch all forms of broadcast for an a la carte approach with streaming services and perhaps a PC tuner.

One thought on “Adventures in cable-shifting

  1. Mr. Bingley January 10, 2012 at 7:16 am

    I’ve been thinking about the switcherooski but sine the main familial email is @behemoth.com I quake at the effort to change everything.

    Yeah, I’m a lazy wuss.

Comments are closed.

