OK, spammers, you got me.

An alleged person named Blair wrote me what seemed like a kind word.  In fact, it was nothing but kind words.  And his URL didn’t look like it was for online g*mbl*ng or cheap apothecary products or teh pr0n.  I approved that comment, and wrote a little thank-you note.

Heh.  Got myself fooled by flattery.  Today there’s four more such comments from the same IP address, linking the same blog, with emails from the same domain; all of them were much more transparently not-a-real-person… or else, a really sad person whose career consists of writing a hundred or so vague phrases and a program to auto-string them into something approaching real English.

Well, I can’t be a chump all my life, right?  As the man would say, delete-hed. [And as I would say – sound alert.]

If I get any more crap from this particular bunghole, the IP address is going up on the screen for public derision from my mighty dozen of followers.  So there.

3 thoughts on “OK, spammers, you got me.

  1. tracey June 24, 2011 at 1:06 am

    I’ve believed those too, NF. Don’t beat yourself up! Besides, you deserve nothing but flattery. (Now let’s see if this comment works because I haven’t had good luck when I’ve tried here lately.)

  2. tracey June 24, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Oh, it just yelled at me because I was so paranoid it wouldn’t work, I tried to do it twice.

    I should not even be allowed to have a blog. Stupit.

  3. nightfly June 24, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    I check the spam queue almost every day, just to make sure I don’t lose the legit folks. Sadly, it has been known to happen, and not just to you, Tracey.

    BTW – I am delighted that you have a blog.

Comments are closed.

