Housekeeping

New fonts.  Not sure if I like them.  Might keep them, or swap them, or grab a couple of different ones.  The difficulty is my inherent cheapness and poverty – I can’t spend money on a frivolity like TypeKit upgrades, which would let me have more than two fonts around here, and improve the selection.  I’d rather just have my pick of two of the free fonts – and really, there are plenty of good ones in their library.  The only issue is, is it readable?  The last font I was using for main text was kind of small, and parts of certain letters were clipped off.   (It was Gesta, if you’re scoring at home – and if you are, I’m sorry.)

This new one (Fertigo Pro) is very nice indeed, but it looks a little big and bold after the last one.  It will probably just take some time to get used to.

I’ve also added categories, you’ll have maybe noticed, but if not I’ll tell you: I’ve also added categories.  Got tired of not finding any of my posts in the old blog, so I wanted to get ahead of the game this time.  There are fewer of them, and some of them have different names, though I kept some I liked.

My Twitter feed is on my sidebar.  Someday I’ll figure out how to automatically Tweet when the blog has a new post.  I’m sure it can be done.  Everything integrates and connects and works with stuff now, with such a minimum of skill required… the days of having to learn some HTML, or some DOS, or some C+ or COBOL or FORTRAN, to do anything beyond the basics, are rapidly fading – at least, for the PC laity.  There will always be programmers, and they will always be versed in the arcana, but there’s such a demand for easy-on-the-brain interfaces from people and businesses now.

This could rapidly get into deep water: high demand resulting in cheap, plentiful supply, absent any top-down directive from a central authority. I won’t go diving in right now, but I note that there is a deep end to this pool, even if the shallow end is all about dog pictures and twitter feeds and what-I-had-for-breakfast posts.  To me, the economics about it are less interesting than knowing that the pool is large enough to permit people to wade, or swim, or dive, or snorkel, or scuba if they really want to – without much getting in each other’s way.  That’s the beauty of human freedom.  That’s why it’s so tiresome when self-important busybodies try to decide that this water is too deep for some people, or that the pool is too important to waste on a large shallow end, or that there should be no pool at all when people are thirsty anywhere at any time.  It’s beyond me how some can decide that the solution to some injustice or tyranny somewhere is injustice and tyranny for everyone, right now, in the name of equality (by which they mean sameness).  It’s like trying to help an unconscious skydiver by tossing away one’s own parachute, because it’s unfair to have one when others are falling to their deaths.

And of course it doesn’t stop even at that obvious silliness.  Soon, any difference is attributed to injustice or malice.  But again – that’s a whole ‘nother day at the beach.

3 thoughts on “Housekeeping

  1. Rob January 31, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Keep an eye on your Twitter doodads. My posts used to go to Twitter and the latest tweets would be posted on my page. When Twitter gets overloaded, my entries would post if I was posting and my pages wouldn’t load if I was browsing. Twitter gets overloaded during just about any big event (Egypt) and any maintenance period (Pretty regular).

  2. Rob January 31, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    I meant to say they wouldn’t post. They would hang.

  3. nightfly January 31, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Good advice. Thanks. Maybe I’ll leave well enough alone and just tweet the posts manually.

Comments are closed.

