Request from the nicest spam I’ve read

The Akismet filter hasn’t been very busy for me yet – this is a sleepy backwater with no metaphorical stop lights – but one would-be commenter made a very nice request/suggestion, in response to my Eli Manning rant:

Hey can I copy and paste this post on my web site? What references must I give? You might give this info for other people too.

How can I turn down such a polite person?  Based on the grammar, he took the time to write in personally, or at least the time to write one of the best autotext programs I’ve ever seen.  He deserves a reply.  In order, here are my answers:

1. NO.  To copy and paste the entire post is considered rude.  I suspect you knew this and hoped that I would get annoyed and check to see that you didn’t do it – the better to phish for info or infect my computer.  If not – still, NO, because it’s rude to take other people’s stuff.  You could quote and link back, that’s polite.

2. A big step forward would be not to use a proxy server in the Philippines.  You could also respond to the topic, further the conversation, not comment on a month-old post… anything that proves you’re an actual person, actually reading, and not a soulless leech looking for an easy score.

Now – if you meet the “actual person, actually reading” test – welcome to the Hive, please feel free to comment, thanks so much for taking a few minutes of your day here.

3 thoughts on “Request from the nicest spam I’ve read

  1. megaupload search engine December 21, 2010 at 7:11 am

    Awesome informative post Request from the nicest spam I’ve read. Thanks for such helpful article.

    • nightfly December 21, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      Hahahahaha! You did such a good job, akismet flagged THIS as spam, too. Fixed now.

      (Of course, just to make sure, I took out the website link. Even if you just made something up, it may well really exist; I prefer not to find out the hard way.)

  2. Laura December 21, 2010 at 7:24 am

    My spam just cussing me out lately. At least, I hope it’s spam, it may be my crazy-ass auntie again.

Comments are closed.

