Be careful what you search for

Based on Sheila’s post about Clara Bow’s 1927 silent film, “It,” I went to Netflix to order… well, it.

Well, I kind of messed up the search and looked for “The It Girl.”   Nope.  So I thought, OK, I’m not remembering this correctly, look it up again on Sheila’s site.  While I waited for the page to load, I re-searched, looking instead for Clara Bow.  Heh.

This is what I got (below the fold):

It actually doesn’t sound terrible, though I doubt that she goes on the tilt-a-whirl or Social Mixer with some monster. That’s not the style in Japan. What is the style is the “Half-human, half-X protagonist who wages war on Full-X baddies to save humanity.”  A complete listing would require its own branch of the Internet.

The good news is that Netflix will send us the Clara Bow movie as soon as we get through a couple other titles.  By then I’m sure we’ll have a “It vs. It” crossover novel, a la “Pride Prejudice and Zombies” or “Android Karenina.”

2 thoughts on “Be careful what you search for

  1. sheila October 29, 2010 at 7:45 am

    hahahahahahaha

    // It actually doesn’t sound terrible, though I doubt that she goes on the tilt-a-whirl or Social Mixer with some monster. //

    Hilarious!!!!

    I’m so excited you’re going to see it. It’s a blast! Come back to my place and talk about it after you’ve seen it!

  2. Kate P October 29, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    I’m sure an “upbringing of violence and abandonment” is exactly the backstory Clara Bow’s character had as well.

Comments are closed.

