Catching up with friends

As y’all may remember, I had a co-blogger for a few years, a guy I’ve known since before I could legally vote – the Barking Spider.  We keep in touch more conventionally nowadays: phone and email.  Today we did some catching up, and in the midst of small talk about baseball and Marco Rubio, he dropped the following on me.

He agreed to email the details so that all the blogfriends could be updated.  Prayers are always welcome, so those so inclined, feel free.  Following the old blog convention, I’m italicizing his writing.

The Barking Spider here with a brief update on my condition.
 
On October 15th I have an appointment at the VA hospital to start the process of putting me on a list for a new kidney.  Kidney disease (stage 4 in my case) is one of the ailments that diabetics get.  Some guys go blind or lose a leg so I’ve got no complaints.  My sister, who has had my brother’s kidney for the past 14 years, tells me that I definitely want a transplant before dialysis.
 
The only symptom I have is feeling a little run down – sleeping more than I normally would – other than that I am fully functional.  (That means I’m still peeing okay.  My sister was on dialysis and she went a year and a half without peeing.  I cannot get my mind around that.)
 
My Dad died when he was 57.  He was retired Navy, so his pension allowed him to spend his last years pretty much homeless.  He traveled on military aircraft throughout the country with one bag and a cooler for his whiskey and insulin.  He died alone in some cheap motel in Homestead FL.
 
As for me, I am 51 and sober, with the Holy Spirit in me and the Lord’s heaven before me.  I am surrounded by people who, for some unknown reason, put up with my Pferdkaese.  I have no complaints.

Be well, Spider.  We want to put up with your pferdkaese for a while longer.

3 thoughts on “Catching up with friends

  1. tracey October 7, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Oh, hang in there, Barking Spider. You’re one of the good ones.

  2. Kate P October 7, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks for the update, ‘Fly, and please tell B-Spider he’s got prayers going for him on this end!

  3. Mr. Bingley October 18, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Prayers are with you, spidey.

Comments are closed.

